I'm not sure which forum to post this in, so I thought I'd start here.
I noticed this odd referrer URL (ebay.com)on my website statistics the other day and when I looked back in the statistics a few months ago, I found out it has been going on for a few months. I was curious as to why ebay.com was linking to my site.
I thought that someone was hotlinking to the an image on the site but got this back from the company.
I have contacted the host company for the site, and received this reply
Quote:
We don't believe there is any hotlinking going on, it's just a bit curious as to what exactly is going on. basically, someone is requesting the file "http://www.ebay.com"; when connecting to your account. your default page is being returned to them.
so essentially, it's no different than someone requesting "file.html" on your account (ie, browsing that page) but as to why they're doing it i'm not sure, i haven't heard of any sort of scam or similar which uses this technique, so it does seem quite harmless,
|
Has anyone heard of this? Any idea why this is happening? I'm not sure it is "harmless" and have concerns someone is bouncing an illegal spam or scam off my site.
Can anyone help?
Thanks
|