Reply
Not spam...after a long search.. the host of my dreams.
Old 01-02-2003, 07:30 PM Not spam...after a long search.. the host of my dreams.
dk01's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 373
Location: Ames, IA
Ok this is not spam and I have no affiliation with this host other than that I am a satified customer. I just think people will be suprised at the hosting plans they offer. Its really insane and they have amazing customer service. The site is: http://www.xavia.net
I have a plan which I am sharing with a friend that is 150 dollars a year and includes a domain name. It is 800 meg (plus a 500 meg xmas present) of space and 20 gig (plus 10 more gig for xmas) of transfer per month. Its not a joke and my site http://www.conxiondesigns.com is hosted on it. My friend's site
http://www.b2tb.com is hosted on my same account. They also offer Reseller, Private Reseller, and Dedicated Servers for great prices. The owner is Josh Brown. If you have any questions about the service feel free to PM me.
__________________
Did I help you? If so, be nice and throw me some TP
dk01 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit dk01's homepage!
 
When You Register, These Ads Go Away!
Old 01-02-2003, 11:34 PM
conkermaniac's Avatar
The Nutty Moderator

Posts: 1,012
Location: China
Hi dk01,

They may not seem like a scam, but I would be careful, especially because it is so cheap and comes with a domain name. I just did a WHOIS lookup, and it appears that the domain is not registered in your name. Not to get you alarmed or anything...just a friendly reminder to make sure you don't get hurt.

Oh, and don't be afraid of being mistaken for a spammer when you are honestly making a helpful recommendation, especially not when you have close to 200 posts. The admins and mods don't have very loose definitions of spammers; I have edited so many posts as of late only because they were too obvious (people who don't have at least 15 posts, or people who have promoted their host more than once). Most of those people are clearly not making honest recommendations: they're just posting their plans.
__________________
Aimoo - Affordable feature-packed remotely hosted message boards!
conkermaniac is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit conkermaniac's homepage!
 
Old 01-03-2003, 11:57 AM
dk01's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 373
Location: Ames, IA
Wow that is strange. I just did a whois lookup and conxiondesigns.com is in my name, Jim Cummins. Anyways they do not require you register their domain with with so I have mine registered with Verisign. My friends decided just to let them register his domain because his site isn't really serious or anything.
I have been with them for several months now and have been in contact with many other customers via the forums. Everyone has been extremely happy. I guess you always have to be careful though!
-dk
__________________
Did I help you? If so, be nice and throw me some TP
dk01 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit dk01's homepage!
 
Old 01-03-2003, 12:07 PM
dk01's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 373
Location: Ames, IA
I just thought of something. Xavia just changed its name from SBYWEB so maybe that is what you are getting?
-dk
__________________
Did I help you? If so, be nice and throw me some TP
dk01 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit dk01's homepage!
 
Old 01-05-2003, 02:36 AM
conkermaniac's Avatar
The Nutty Moderator

Posts: 1,012
Location: China
Hi dk01,

As long as you retain ownership to the domain, I don't see any problem with letting the host register it.
__________________
Aimoo - Affordable feature-packed remotely hosted message boards!
conkermaniac is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit conkermaniac's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to Not spam...after a long search.. the host of my dreams.
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML

 


Page generated in 0.13163 seconds with 12 queries