Reply
Company using my URL - any advice
Old 03-19-2008, 01:22 PM Company using my URL - any advice
bakerc's Avatar
Penguins on toast

Posts: 1,445
Name: carl
Location: UK
A secured loan lead generation company is using my url in a sponsored listing at

http://www.financelink.co.uk/?sitefi...inancial.co.uk

it links to

http://secured-loan.gb.com/?OVRAW=ww...ID=59119397531


www.bakerfinancial.co.uk is my site.

Will this have an effect on my rankings?, I was ranking on 1st page for Yahoo uk for a number of search terms but as of today I am way off that.

Can anyone suggest how to go about getting this removed. I have emailed the directory.

Last edited by bakerc : 03-19-2008 at 01:23 PM. Reason: update info
bakerc is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit bakerc's homepage!
 
When You Register, These Ads Go Away!
     
Old 03-19-2008, 10:35 PM Re: Company using my URL - any advice
ForrestCroce's Avatar
Half Man, Half Amazing

Posts: 3,025
Name: Forrest Croce
Location: Seattle, WA
The page goes to a search and not found page. Financelink might not even be behind it ... a lot of search pages for my site turned up in Google's index, probably with the help of a scraper.

It should have a too-small-to-notice effect on your search rankings ... why would it? Nobody is going to discover your web site by typing your url into a search engine. Having your url appear in the query string of a page on another site isn't a positive or negative thing.
ForrestCroce is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ForrestCroce's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to Company using my URL - any advice
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML

 


Page generated in 0.11749 seconds with 13 queries