Reply
Copyright Infringement!! What can we do!? Please Read!
Old 11-13-2005, 03:38 AM Copyright Infringement!! What can we do!? Please Read!
bbott's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 267
I was checking the statistics of our company website and I noticed a unusually high number of hits incoming from another design company's website...

Well sure enough they copied our entire site design, scripts, and even the text!!!

Their contact page even has our company's contact information and their portfolio is listing our clients!!! What the **** can we do about this? They have no contact info no their page otherwise i'd threaten them with a lawyers note.

Can I atleast report their site to somebody?? Search Engines or anyone?

BTW our site is http://www.eWebDevelopment.net

and the site copying ours is http://www.designplays.com/test.htm

Obviously it's in test production but they're stealing our original design!!

Thanks in advance for your recommendations.

Best Regards,
Brian B.
President, eWebDevelopment, LLC
bbott is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit bbott's homepage!
 
When You Register, These Ads Go Away!
Old 11-13-2005, 10:41 AM
Cagedweb's Avatar
Extreme Talker

Posts: 170
Their contact details are below, not sure what you can do unless they actually use the design in the end

Registrant:
Kisha Guzman
441 E. Meadow Drive
Palo Alto, California 94306
United States

Registered through: Red Pajama
Domain Name: DESIGNPLAYS.COM
Created on: 08-Nov-05
Expires on: 08-Nov-06
Last Updated on: 08-Nov-05

Administrative Contact:
Guzman, Kisha kisha@redpajama.com
441 E. Meadow Drive
Palo Alto, California 94306
United States
(650) 804-4979
Technical Contact:
Guzman, Kisha kisha@redpajama.com
441 E. Meadow Drive
Palo Alto, California 94306
United States
(650) 804-4979



Cagedweb is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Cagedweb's homepage!
 
Old 11-13-2005, 11:09 AM
chrishirst's Avatar
Super Moderator

Posts: 15,343
Location: Blackpool. UK
report the copyright infringement to their host or the upstream provider for a start.

from whois.sc their host is;
Quote:
OrgName: Everyones Internet, Inc.
OrgID: EVRY
Address: 390 Benmar
Address: Suite 200
City: Houston
StateProv: TX
PostalCode: 77060
Country: US

NetRange: 66.98.128.0 - 66.98.255.255
CIDR: 66.98.128.0/17
NetName: EVRY-BLK-14
NetHandle: NET-66-98-128-0-1
Parent: NET-66-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.EV1.NET
NameServer: NS2.EV1.NET
Comment:
RegDate: 2003-07-02
Updated: 2004-02-06

RTechHandle: RW172-ARIN
RTechName: Williams, Randy
RTechPhone: +1-713-579-2850
RTechEmail:

OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE477-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: ABUSE
OrgAbusePhone: +1-713-579-2850
OrgAbuseEmail:

OrgNOCHandle: NOC1445-ARIN
OrgNOCName: NOC
OrgNOCPhone: +1-713-579-2850
OrgNOCEmail:

OrgTechHandle: RW172-ARIN
OrgTechName: Williams, Randy
OrgTechPhone: +1-713-579-2850
OrgTechEmail:

OrgTechHandle: VST3-ARIN
OrgTechName: Stinson, Valarie
OrgTechPhone: +1-713-579-2850
OrgTechEmail:

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2005-11-12 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
and take a look at http://www.highrankings.com/forum/in...howtopic=10848
__________________
Chris. ->> Links are advertising NOT optimising!! <<-
Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?
Code Samples | People Counting System | Bits & Bobs
chrishirst is online now
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit chrishirst's homepage!
 
Old 11-13-2005, 03:43 PM
Banned

Posts: 78
Do you not have to purchase copyright laws to have copyright on something?

I wouldnt have though you could do anything unless you have it copyritten to your name!

Im not 100% on this though
ahostfor.us is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 11-13-2005, 07:32 PM
bbott's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 267
Here is the reply I received from their hosting company. Since all their emails came back undeliverable looks like their account is going bye bye!

Quote:
======== CUT HERE =========
Your support request was answered:

Created: Nov 13, 2005 11:15:39 AM
Last Mod: Nov 13, 2005 5:07:21 PM

Assigned To:
Support(Neureal Support)


[Nov 13, 2005 5:09:00 PM]
A: Brian,

Please let us know if this issue is not taken care of by designplays.com site owner within the alloted time period and we will remove their account.

Thank you
-------------------------------------------------------
Justice is served!
bbott is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit bbott's homepage!
 
Old 11-14-2005, 07:36 AM
chrishirst's Avatar
Super Moderator

Posts: 15,343
Location: Blackpool. UK
Yep, Responsible and on the ball hosts have to take copyright infringement seriously, as in many countries they can be held responsible for publishing or allowing copyrighted material to be published.
__________________
Chris. ->> Links are advertising NOT optimising!! <<-
Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?
Code Samples | People Counting System | Bits & Bobs
chrishirst is online now
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit chrishirst's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to Copyright Infringement!! What can we do!? Please Read!
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Webmaster Resources Marketplace:
Software Development Company | Webhosting.UK.com | Text Link Brokers 


   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML

 


Page generated in 0.14386 seconds with 12 queries