Reply
dangerous redirection?
Old 10-12-2005, 06:32 PM dangerous redirection?
Extreme Talker

Posts: 213
Name: Sylwester
Location: Europe
Hi,

I noticed a strange redirection to my wesbite.
Please look at google:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...ntshopping.com
Title and description are taken from site, but this redirection looks fishy.

Regards,
Syl
sylwester is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit sylwester's homepage!
 
When You Register, These Ads Go Away!
Old 10-13-2005, 03:50 AM
shabbirbhimani's Avatar
Application Developer

Latest Blog Post:
Derivative Trading
Posts: 875
Name: Shabbir Bhimani
Location: at Go4Expert.com
probably hijacking your PR and backlinks.
shabbirbhimani is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit shabbirbhimani's homepage!
 
Old 10-13-2005, 06:44 PM
Bompa's Avatar
Extreme Talker

Posts: 173
Location: The Philippine Islands
Quote:
Originally Posted by shabbirbhimani
probably hijacking your PR and backlinks.
Why do you accuse someone of illegal activity?

Have you researched first?


just wondering sir,

Bompa
__________________
Get a Competitive Edge!
SEO BOOT CAMP >> BLOG
Bompa is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Bompa's homepage!
 
Old 10-13-2005, 06:59 PM
Bompa's Avatar
Extreme Talker

Posts: 173
Location: The Philippine Islands
Quote:
Originally Posted by sylwester
Hi,

I noticed a strange redirection to my wesbite.
Please look at google:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...ntshopping.com
Title and description are taken from site, but this redirection looks fishy.

Regards,
Syl
Hi sylwester,

If you go to their site, (shopireland), and spend a few minutes looking around, you will see that you are in their links directory, page 5. It's a typical link-directory type of link used today by most automated link programs. Thier linking manager software encodes your domain name so they pass no PR to other sites, you don't even get "a mention".

Quote:
Online Shopping, Discount Shopping, Shopping Mall, Web PromotionShopping, Online Shopping, Discount Shopping, Shopping Directory, Coupons, Shopping Mall, Clothing, Watches, Jewelry, Fragrances, Cosmetics, Books, Electronics, Flowers, Travel, Hotels and more! It's easy and safe.
Yes, they are using a 302 redirect, most of these automated link directories do that so they can monitor the outgoing traffic.

####################################
#1 Server Response: http://www.shopireland.ie/exit
HTTP Status Code: HTTP/1.1 302 Found
Date: Thu, 13 Oct 2005 22:25:35 GMT
Server: Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) PHP/5.0.4 mod_jk/1.2.8 mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 mod_ssl/2.8.22 OpenSSL/0.9.7a
X-Powered-By: PHP/5.0.4
Location: http://www.shopireland.ie
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html
Redirect Target: http://www.shopireland.ie
####################################


My first question tho, is are you linking to them? Do you know?

I see you are also using an automated link exchange program AddWeb.

I see your homepage has PR0 and zero BL with Google.

How old is your site?


Anyways, the link does go to your site, so they are *not* stealing anything.

Bompa
__________________
Get a Competitive Edge!
SEO BOOT CAMP >> BLOG
Bompa is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Bompa's homepage!
 
Old 10-14-2005, 12:31 AM
shabbirbhimani's Avatar
Application Developer

Latest Blog Post:
Derivative Trading
Posts: 875
Name: Shabbir Bhimani
Location: at Go4Expert.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bompa
Why do you accuse someone of illegal activity?

Have you researched first?


just wondering sir,

Bompa
probably you did not see the word "Probably"
shabbirbhimani is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit shabbirbhimani's homepage!
 
Old 10-15-2005, 03:40 AM
chrishirst's Avatar
Super Moderator

Latest Blog Post:
Javascript alert
Posts: 13,688
Location: Blackpool. UK
Actually because it shows up for a search for the target URI, it has already hijacked the target
__________________
Chris. ->> Links are advertising NOT optimising!! <<-
Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?
Code Samples | People Counting System
chrishirst is online now
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit chrishirst's homepage!
 
Old 10-15-2005, 06:40 AM
Extreme Talker

Posts: 213
Name: Sylwester
Location: Europe
Hi Bompa,

I never do link exchange with shopiredland.ie . I'm not using Addweb for some time. Yes, my home page is PR0 because is banned by google from August this year. My site is 4 years old and in the good times had PR6.

Thank you all for replies,

Regards,
sylwester is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit sylwester's homepage!
 
Old 10-15-2005, 06:31 PM
Bompa's Avatar
Extreme Talker

Posts: 173
Location: The Philippine Islands
Quote:
Originally Posted by sylwester
Hi Bompa,

I never do link exchange with shopiredland.ie . I'm not using Addweb for some time. Yes, my home page is PR0 because is banned by google from August this year. My site is 4 years old and in the good times had PR6.

Thank you all for replies,

Regards,
Come to think of it, maybe your site is not banned by Google, I think Chrishirst is correct. I think your page has been hijacked, (innocently or evily, I don't know), by shopireland.

I suggest that you email them immediately requesting that your site be removed from their directory.

My guess is once removed, you will get your PR, rank, and traffic back, (next update).

Bompa

PS: If that fixes the problem and you get your PR6 back, you can say your thanks with a link hehe
__________________
Get a Competitive Edge!
SEO BOOT CAMP >> BLOG

Last edited by Bompa : 10-15-2005 at 06:49 PM.
Bompa is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Bompa's homepage!
 
Old 10-16-2005, 04:14 PM
Extreme Talker

Posts: 213
Name: Sylwester
Location: Europe
Hello Bompa,

Thank your for advise. I just emailed to shopireland.ie and ask to remove my link from their link directory.

Regards,
sylwester is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit sylwester's homepage!
 
Old 10-16-2005, 04:45 PM
chrishirst's Avatar
Super Moderator

Latest Blog Post:
Javascript alert
Posts: 13,688
Location: Blackpool. UK
I would suspect that many of your problems stem from the <cough>directory</cough> on your site. it seems to exist for nothing more than generating reciprocal links/link exchanges.
It may well be that you have been hit when Google started "taking out" the scraper crap.
See This HR thread for more.
__________________
Chris. ->> Links are advertising NOT optimising!! <<-
Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?
Code Samples | People Counting System
chrishirst is online now
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit chrishirst's homepage!
 
Old 10-16-2005, 05:47 PM
Extreme Talker

Posts: 213
Name: Sylwester
Location: Europe
Hi Chrishirst,

I removed a web directory links from home page and another link that could be suspect as link farm.
About shopireland.ie - they removed my link, there are still many links with 302 redirect, do you think they want to ostealing pr or traffic from that websites? Is this punishable?

Regards,
sylwester is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit sylwester's homepage!
 
Old 10-16-2005, 07:10 PM
chrishirst's Avatar
Super Moderator

Latest Blog Post:
Javascript alert
Posts: 13,688
Location: Blackpool. UK
The problem with 302 jump links is not all of them can cause hijacks. So you can't be sure that has caused all the problems and there is a possibility that implementing a 301 redirect on your own site can reverse or negate the hijack effects.

On the link directory;
The only way to clean up would be to remove all the pages from the site so they 404 out.
Is googlebot still indexing the site?
If so you may only need to wait a few weeks before you see some results appearing without needing to plead for reinclusion. Assuming you haven't used any tricks on the site of course.
__________________
Chris. ->> Links are advertising NOT optimising!! <<-
Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?
Code Samples | People Counting System
chrishirst is online now
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit chrishirst's homepage!
 
Old 10-17-2005, 04:22 AM
Extreme Talker

Posts: 213
Name: Sylwester
Location: Europe
Googlebot last visited site at 10.October. I emailed to google for indexing, they always ask me to see webmaster guidelines. I never do any tricks [for example hidden text, javascript redirection etc.]
sylwester is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit sylwester's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to dangerous redirection?
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML

 


Page generated in 0.17969 seconds with 12 queries