Reply
Anyone know about Google.org?
Old 09-12-2005, 02:46 PM Anyone know about Google.org?
MightyMaster's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 399
Location: Appleton, WI
Anyone know what Google's plans are wtih Google.org?

http://www.google.org/

The site reads ....

This will be the future site of Google.org – the philanthropic arm of Google. We are currently working on staffing as well as defining the goals, priorities, and principles of Google.org. We hope to have a lot more to share with you on this front in the coming year. Check back here for updates.

For grant requests: Unfortunately, we are not ready to accept grant requests of any kind at this time. Please check back on this site in the future.

For staffing inquiries: We will post a link on this site when positions become available.
Thank you for your interest!


I am sorry but that means what?
MightyMaster is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
When You Register, These Ads Go Away!
Old 09-13-2005, 02:21 AM
luke456's Avatar
Webmaster Talker

Posts: 608
I really have no idea, its my first time hearing about that.
luke456 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 09-13-2005, 05:32 AM
shabbirbhimani's Avatar
Application Developer

Posts: 898
Name: Shabbir Bhimani
Location: at Go4Expert.com
Quote:
This will be the future site of Google.org – the philanthropic arm of Google. We are currently working on staffing as well as defining the goals, priorities, and principles of Google.org. We hope to have a lot more to share with you on this front in the coming year. Check back here for updates.

For grant requests: Unfortunately, we are not ready to accept grant requests of any kind at this time. Please check back on this site in the future.

For staffing inquiries: We will post a link on this site when positions become available.
Thank you for your interest!
I am sure G will never put anything like that.
shabbirbhimani is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit shabbirbhimani's homepage!
 
Old 09-13-2005, 06:28 AM
Average Talker

Posts: 22
Are they same company?~
__________________
introduce your websites and blogs for FREE
http://review.168forums.com
snowstar is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit snowstar's homepage!
 
Old 09-13-2005, 10:29 AM
kline11's Avatar
King Spam Talker

Posts: 1,312
Name: John
Location: USA
I found this on Google here http://www.google.com/intl/en/corporate/execs.html under the profiles:

Vice President, Global Online Sales and Operations

Sheryl Sandberg joined Google in 2001 and is currently the Vice President of Global Online Sales and Operations. In this role, Sheryl is responsible for online sales of Google's advertising and publishing products. She also runs sales operations and support for Google's consumer products and for Google Print. In addition, Sheryl directs the Google Grants program, which provides free advertising to non-profit organizations, and works with Larry and Sergey on Google.org.

Prior to joining Google, Sheryl was the Chief of Staff for the United States Treasury Department...
kline11 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit kline11's homepage!
 
Old 09-13-2005, 02:39 PM
someguy's Avatar
Extreme Talker

Posts: 151
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by shabbirbhimani
I am sure G will never put anything like that.
DNS records seem to confirm it is legit

Quote:
Registrant Organization: Google Inc.
Registrant Street1: 2400 E. Bayshore Pkwy
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City: Mountain View
Registrant State/Province: CA
Registrant Postal Code: 94043
Registrant Country: US
On google nameservers too - so seems to be real. Could be interesting to keep an eye on.
someguy is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 09-13-2005, 04:13 PM
NuWeb.co.uk's Avatar
NuWeb.co.uk is OFFLINE

Posts: 361
Google.org
Org standing for organiseation.

May be things such as share info, and compaines that google managem support. Link to services.

Or could be just getting publicity from threds like it is now?
__________________
Zend PHP5 Certification Blog

NuWeb 10101101
NuWeb.co.uk is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit NuWeb.co.uk's homepage!
 
Old 09-13-2005, 11:36 PM
shabbirbhimani's Avatar
Application Developer

Posts: 898
Name: Shabbir Bhimani
Location: at Go4Expert.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by someguy
DNS records seem to confirm it is legit



On google nameservers too - so seems to be real. Could be interesting to keep an eye on.
should have checked that.
shabbirbhimani is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit shabbirbhimani's homepage!
 
Old 09-15-2005, 12:03 PM
MightyMaster's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 399
Location: Appleton, WI
Yeah it's really Googles but I am curious as to it use.
MightyMaster is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 09-15-2005, 12:33 PM
Harvey's Avatar
Super Spam Talker

Posts: 901
Name: Harvey C
Location: Brighton, UK
Well Google have got to have all of their domains as their own - i.e. .co.uk., .co.fr, so they registered .org.

I would imagine it'll be a bit like the developer's section of Paypal
__________________
Buy wii fit|Gift ideas
Harvey is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 09-15-2005, 03:33 PM A fundation.
opiapr's Avatar
Average Talker

Posts: 28
Most big companies or thies big share holder have fundations. Like the HP Fundation, Bill And Melinda Gate Fundation and so on. G refer to grants what most fundation do. So maybe is a fundation or something like the XEROX's Palo Alto Research Center.
opiapr is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 09-16-2005, 08:36 AM
Average Talker

Posts: 28
First time i have heard of this.. keeping an eye out to see wut it will be..
DieNamicz is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 09-17-2005, 01:44 AM
stOx's Avatar
Machine

Latest Blog Post:
Worlds Smallest Car - Peel P50
Posts: 2,114
Name: Matt. (>',')>
Location: London, England.
Its going to be google pretending to offer funding for coders of open source products but really buying the licences for them.

If you code something that google want they will give you a grant to fund development, but then they will get ownership of the final product.

It looks good from the outside, but really its underhand hostile corperate takeovers.
stOx is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit stOx's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to Anyone know about Google.org?
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Webmaster Resources Marketplace:
Software Development Company | Webhosting.UK.com | Text Link Brokers 


   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML

 


Page generated in 0.18604 seconds with 12 queries