Reply
Urgent - Many site being ripped off by a company duplicating sites - please read!
Old 01-15-2005, 07:20 PM Urgent - Many site being ripped off by a company duplicating sites - please read!
smokey99's Avatar
Skilled Talker

Posts: 61
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Hi,
I am really PO'd and worried right now.
I own mightygrip.ca

Someone in China is duplicating my page and hundreds of others even spoofing the url
Look at this
http://www.mightygrip.ca.1bu.com/mighty_grip.html

This 1bu.com is doing this to many big sites, I think this is why I got knocked way down in the SERPs.
THey also use 1bu.net

They ad to the end of the page title "fliter" and a number, yes fliter not filter
Search fliter on google and see what I mean, they show up a few pages down.

Look at all these,

http://www.microsoft.com .1bu.com
http://www.mapquest.com. 1bu.com
http://www.google.co.uk. 1bu.com
http://www.internet-optimizer.com. 1bu.com/contact.html
http://www.dell.com. 1bu.com/

Whats up with this, ??
I am about to email a bunch of sites he has done this to, but want to make sure this is not some legit thing, I don't understand (newbie)

I tried running a whois on 1bu.com and can't get results

I am hoping that these other big guys listed above will take action if I notify them.

Check your site as well, try typing your url and ad .1bu.com to the end, you might be surprised.

Please help,

Thanks
Scott

Last edited by smokey99 : 01-22-2005 at 06:43 PM. Reason: removing links to spoof sites
smokey99 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit smokey99's homepage!
 
When You Register, These Ads Go Away!
Old 01-16-2005, 01:35 AM
mikeroq's Avatar
Skilled Talker

Posts: 92
Name: Mike Roq
Location: Lakewood, CO
you can do any domain name. all of mine worked. its just some automated thing that pulls pages throught there server
__________________
CodingHub.com
mikeroquemore.com
mikeroq is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit mikeroq's homepage!
 
Old 01-16-2005, 02:57 AM
TaylorAtCTS's Avatar
Webmaster Talker

Posts: 501
Location: Memphis, TN, USA
its like an offline browser..cept it is online

not a big deal
__________________
Memphis Web Design - Memphis Website Design - Memphis Website Development

Custom Tailored Solutions designs the best looking, most functional customized marketing solutions from web design to brochures with a 100% satisfaction guarantee, all for a price that fits your budget.
TaylorAtCTS is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit TaylorAtCTS's homepage!
 
Old 01-16-2005, 03:55 AM
shabbirbhimani's Avatar
Application Developer

Posts: 898
Name: Shabbir Bhimani
Location: at Go4Expert.com
As said its only an offline browser for the sites but i think its not an offline browser but what I predict it it just displays other sites with the prefix of its own domain. Here is a benchmark of what I say.

My site http://www.globaldevelopers.net has some thing called tip of the day on the front page and when you visit the homepage that is generated randomly now when you http://www.globaldevelopers.net. 1 b u .com/ [remove the space and I did not want to give that a backlink] you see the tip as randomly and so there is nothing on the cache of 1bu and so it just display what it sees on the domain www.globaldevelopers.net.

So I dont think what it displays has anything to worry about as it does not copy the content of your page. I guess what it does is something like anonymous browsing is all about.

Thanks
Shabbir Bhimani
shabbirbhimani is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit shabbirbhimani's homepage!
 
Old 01-16-2005, 01:59 PM
TaylorAtCTS's Avatar
Webmaster Talker

Posts: 501
Location: Memphis, TN, USA
shabbirbhimani your right :P, didnt notice that I should have tested better.

Still not a big deal though
__________________
Memphis Web Design - Memphis Website Design - Memphis Website Development

Custom Tailored Solutions designs the best looking, most functional customized marketing solutions from web design to brochures with a 100% satisfaction guarantee, all for a price that fits your budget.
TaylorAtCTS is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit TaylorAtCTS's homepage!
 
Old 01-16-2005, 03:06 PM
smokey99's Avatar
Skilled Talker

Posts: 61
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Someone at another site says it is a phishing scheme.
THey have duplicated major banks, paypal, ...

"The pages themselves are making background calls to the intended destination, and altering the content to so they response to links and form go to HIS server, then sent on the to the destination server. This gives him the opportunity to store all data in both directions, including and ID's and passwords.

This is very different from framing, which is a page that tells the browser to open a sub-window, and directly interact with the intended server. With framing, the 3rd party never sees the data passed in the fram at all, so it's safe."
Quoted from
Juniper Park

If they are simply reserving up someone elses site how does the word
"fliter #######" get in the end of the page title?

I think there is something devious about this, and may also be behind some of googles weird SERP results as well

JMHO
smokey99 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit smokey99's homepage!
 
Old 01-17-2005, 12:33 AM
shabbirbhimani's Avatar
Application Developer

Posts: 898
Name: Shabbir Bhimani
Location: at Go4Expert.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaylorAtCTS
shabbirbhimani your right :P, didnt notice that I should have tested better.
If everything can be tested with one eyes people might not have used forums for fresh eyes to look at something.

Quote:
Still not a big deal though
shabbirbhimani is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit shabbirbhimani's homepage!
 
Old 01-17-2005, 12:44 AM
Republikin's Avatar
Super Moderator

Posts: 3,191
Here is just a theory. I am under the believe that the Chinese government tightly controls internet access from outside of China. This might be an attempt to bring content to the Chinese people that they might not be able to get any other way.
Republikin is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 01-17-2005, 12:57 AM
shabbirbhimani's Avatar
Application Developer

Posts: 898
Name: Shabbir Bhimani
Location: at Go4Expert.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by cptnwinky
Here is just a theory. I am under the believe that the Chinese government tightly controls internet access from outside of China. This might be an attempt to bring content to the Chinese people that they might not be able to get any other way.
Yes that can be one of the very valid reason. Also http://whois.sc/1bu.com tells that the country is China
shabbirbhimani is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit shabbirbhimani's homepage!
 
Old 01-17-2005, 11:17 AM
johanesw's Avatar
Extreme Talker

Posts: 174
Location: If I told you that, I'm afraid I'd have to kill you!
Quote:
Originally Posted by cptnwinky
Here is just a theory. I am under the believe that the Chinese government tightly controls internet access from outside of China. This might be an attempt to bring content to the Chinese people that they might not be able to get any other way.

well it's working for all domains, so i don't think it's for controlling anything
johanesw is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit johanesw's homepage!
 
Old 01-20-2005, 03:49 PM
Marc Timberlake's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 300
I don't know what they're playing at, but apparently you can stop them by putting this in .htaccess (or asking your webhost to)

Order Allow,Deny
Deny from 202.96.140.119
Allow from all
Marc Timberlake is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Marc Timberlake's homepage!
 
Old 03-22-2005, 01:15 PM
Junior Talker

Posts: 1
1bu.com filters and visits the function :

You add in the back of existing websites .1bu.Com or .1bu.net is visited, Can filter FLASH above , webpage virus , hostile code ,etc. ; Can convenient increase filter telecommunication wait for ISP filter yellow , illegal website that lose ,etc. also, benefits your use.
If you are a network station owner, do not hope your websites are filtered and visited , Can be very easy to Remove by oneself .


http://www.1bu.com/setfilter/ins1.asp
epin is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 03-23-2005, 11:53 PM
joepop's Avatar
Experienced Talker

Posts: 46
sew them
joepop is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 03-24-2005, 08:25 AM
Republikin's Avatar
Super Moderator

Posts: 3,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by joepop
sew them

Yes, sew them up like a blanket.
Republikin is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 03-28-2005, 09:23 PM
Guerrilla's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 387
Hehe, you should post this thread in a cloaking forum. You will get should get some interesting comments
Guerrilla is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Reply     « Reply to Urgent - Many site being ripped off by a company duplicating sites - please read!
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Webmaster Resources Marketplace:
Software Development Company | Webhosting.UK.com | Text Link Brokers 


   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML

 


Page generated in 0.20679 seconds with 12 queries