Reply
Blocked by Google
Old 06-28-2004, 08:14 PM Blocked by Google
Average Talker

Posts: 18
I launched a site several weeks ago and, despite being crawled by Google, the site was never indexed.

I waited patiently and built up links with other sites, thinking that Google just takes a while to get around to it. I then discovered that one of the sites I requested a link with had apparently set up a url which was redirecting to my site, rather than using a hyperlink. Since this might be interpreted as a cloaking attempt on my part, I got the link removed.

---------------

I finally wrote to google about this and here is the reply I received:

Thank you for your note. Your page has been blocked from our index becauseit does not meet the quality standards necessary to assign accurate PageRank. We cannot comment on the individual reasons your page was removed. However, certain actions such as cloaking, writing text in such a
way that it can be seen by search engines but not by users, or setting up pages/links with the sole purpose of fooling search engines may result in permanent removal from our index. Please read our webmaster guidelines at
http://www.google.com/webmasters/guidelines.html for more information.

Regards,
The Google Team

---------------------------

The only other things that I can think of are:

When I first launched the site, I was using too many keyword in the meta tags and in the image alt tags. These have since been revised.

I have a few pages on the server that are not linked from within the site. These pages contain semi-confidential info. and when I want someone to access these files, I send them the url of these pages.
Perhaps this is in violation of Google's guide which says that "every page should be accessible from at least one text link".

I am using the osc "All Prods" contribution. However, I have the all prods link clearly displayed at the bottom of my home page. It's not hidden or disguised in any way).


So, basically, the site is now free of anything questionable, as far as I know. Does anyone know what else might be causing google to block my site? Once a site is blocked, is it typically easy to get it unblocked, or is forever "tainted" and I should now just get a new domain name and server?
mark754 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
When You Register, These Ads Go Away!
Old 06-28-2004, 08:58 PM
cmonkey's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 268
could you post the url so we could see the site?
cmonkey is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 06-28-2004, 09:11 PM
Average Talker

Posts: 18
Yes, it's here
mark754 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 06-28-2004, 09:32 PM
toocool4u's Avatar
Super Talker

Posts: 147
That site looks very nice that's too bad .
__________________
Vivid Gamers
toocool4u is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit toocool4u's homepage!
 
Old 06-28-2004, 09:51 PM
Average Talker

Posts: 18
I just got this reply from Google. Looks like another long wait..ugh! . Anyway, I want to make absolutely certain that there's nothing still on the site that might cause this problem again. Is there a thread or guide somewhere that lists all the "no no's", even if they're somewhat borderline?

---------------

Thank you for your reply. We appreciate your efforts to comply with
Google's quality standards. We have sent your request on to our
engineering team who will review your site to determine if it is eligible
for re-inclusion. If the website is reinstated, it will appear in Google's
search results sometime in the next few months. We appreciate your
patience during this process.
mark754 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-03-2004, 01:55 PM
minstrel's Avatar
Experienced Talker

Posts: 38
Location: Ottawa, Canada
aaahhhh!! blinded by pink!!!!!

Investigating this site, I clicked on "Similar Pages" from the Google toolbar and got this:
Quote:
BeautyForm Silicone Breast Enhancers
Unique Fashion and Beauty Essentials. www.beautyform.com. ...
original.beautyform.com/warning.htm - 11k - Cached - Similar pages

BeautyForm Silicone Breast Enhancers
Unique Fashion and Beauty Essentials. ...
original.beautyform.com/FAQ'S.htm - 38k - Cached - Similar pages
Is this or was this related at all to your site, or might you be affiliated with the "fraudulent" site mentioned?

That first link says this:
Quote:
Customer Warning: We have recently discovered that another company is currently marketing a different product online, fraudulently using the name "Beauty_Form". Please note that this company is not affiliated with us, nor do they have permission to use the BeautyForm® name or trademark. Rest assured that the product we offer is the genuine and original BeautyForm® that we created over ten years ago and is currently sold in major department stores. Customers should beware of inferior imitations and knockoffs that have recently appeared on the market. The imitators have appeared online within the last year or so and one way to identify them is to simply ask them to demonstrate how long they have been in business.
Are you doing any sort of illegal redirects either using PHP or other scripting or the .htaccess file?
minstrel is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit minstrel's homepage!
 
Old 07-04-2004, 09:02 PM
Average Talker

Posts: 26
1. Does your site duplicate other site's content?
2. Do your add invisible text keywords in your pages?
3. do you make doorpage or other pages violated Google's ToS?
4. etc...
rocos is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-20-2004, 04:43 PM
Average Talker

Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by minstrel
aaahhhh!! blinded by pink!!!!!

Investigating this site, I clicked on "Similar Pages" from the Google toolbar and got this:

Is this or was this related at all to your site, or might you be affiliated with the "fraudulent" site mentioned?

That first link says this:

Are you doing any sort of illegal redirects either using PHP or other scripting or the .htaccess file?
That site is also mine. I don't know why it's coming up as a "similar page". I may have used some of the verbiage I created for one site on the other site as well, but nothing significant. The fradulent site mentioned refers to another site that has tried to plagiarize our name and images.

The only connection between the two sites is that I have put links on each one to the other. I wonder why this could this affect the google indexing of the new site. We're not doing any cloaking, redirecting or hidden text. Everything is squeaky clean, as far as I know. Perhaps I'll try removing the links between the two sites.
mark754 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-23-2004, 10:45 AM The answer in my opinion!
Guerrilla's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 386
I did a check on your site and you do have a few back links (10-15 on each major search engine except google).

The pages linking to you may be indexed by google but the will not show as back links unless the page has a page rank of 4.

Recently it seems that links are being counted on pages not ranked 4 as long as the index page is ranked over 4 but this still remains to be seen.

Get a few high ranking sites to link to you on a good page with a few of your keywords in the anchor text and you should see a boost in PR next update.

I think google is probably inundated with emails so the one you got was probably just a standard fob off.

Hope this helps, i may be completely wrong but then again, i may not
Guerrilla is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-23-2004, 02:19 PM
Experienced Talker

Posts: 31
I dont beleive in holding back tips
here are some real tips for your site from a self proclaimed expert
1. all your text are in images, replace the images with text, even the products are images.

2. get some related links to your site
I did a check and saw no backlins
http://www.google.com/search?sourcei...wcase%2Ecom%2F
when I say related I mean very related.

3. try having something other than just products like articles for the engines to pick up...why would google pick your site up over any of the other shopping sites out there??
__________________
SEO Forums

Webmaster Tools
apply75 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit apply75's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to Blocked by Google
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML

 


Page generated in 0.15847 seconds with 12 queries