Reply
Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
Old 08-22-2007, 11:22 AM Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
whym's Avatar
Putting food on my family

Posts: 3,429
Name: Daniel
Location: A sleepy town in Mid Wales
OK after being bombarded with the continual junk from the relevant link exchange forum and other posts, I type "SEO fraud" into Google. I came up with this obscure site. It's got weird posts like the 2 below:

http://seoblackhat.com/2006/03/23/seo-scam/
http://seoblackhat.com/2005/07/26/ho...y-pr-you-want/

Are these posts for real??? Some parts seem sarcastic but others seem serious - it's one of the strangest sites I've ever found!

(Please note before Adam or someone else starts telling me that blackhat SEO methods are wrong etc. - I know that and I'm not going to use the stuff that this site is saying at all - I just want to know if this is for real!)
__________________
Whym Web Design - article blog| Personal blog

I need your help - sponsor me!
whym is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit whym's homepage!
 
When You Register, These Ads Go Away!
Old 08-22-2007, 11:31 AM Re: Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
Canadastaninianite

Posts: 5,945
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I've always found it to be a bit of both. I think the whole point that SEO Blackhat really tries to make is that there's a lot of BS in the industry, and the site tries to out it.

That one about the SEO scam is something that's been around for years.
ADAM Web Design is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ADAM Web Design's homepage!
 
Old 08-22-2007, 11:58 AM Re: Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
Webmaster Talker

Latest Blog Post:
Bebo Apps - Chat rooms
Posts: 572
Hi there

A very interesting post and somewhat disturbing lol, I am not sure if that seo scam is just a joke either, the only problem is somone might well take that on board and do that scam.

Woc
usearchme is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 08-22-2007, 02:42 PM Re: Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
ForrestCroce's Avatar
Half Man, Half Amazing

Posts: 3,024
Name: Forrest Croce
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Step 3. Get the word out that you are an SEO. Make business cards and tell everyone you know. Once you have business cards, you are by definition a “Professional SEO.” I don’t have any business cards so I am NOT a professional SEO. Remember, almost all of your business will have to come from your offline hustling – because no one is going to find you online.
Quote:
If there is anything about [...] building a site that someone might actually want to find, or any legitimate SEO strategies that you don’t understand, just take it out. Don’t worry, odds are the SEO you contacted won’t have mentioned any of these.
Quote:
Hopefully this guide will be used more to help people avoid being ripped off by an SEO Scam, but of course I know better. As PT Barnum said (or didn’t):
There’s a sucker born every minute.
I enjoyed the post. Although I'm not sure that most seos really are scam artists?
ForrestCroce is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ForrestCroce's homepage!
 
Old 08-22-2007, 09:51 PM Re: Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
stOx's Avatar
Machine

Latest Blog Post:
Worlds Smallest Car - Peel P50
Posts: 2,114
Name: Matt. (>',')>
Location: London, England.
Quote:
Although I'm not sure that most seos really are scam artists?
Sadly i think they are.

Especially after reading some posts on here that go like;
hi, I have a site (superseoservicesforgoogleandstuff.com), How can i rank well in google? Also, What is keyword stuffing?
stOx is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit stOx's homepage!
 
Old 08-23-2007, 02:20 AM Re: Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
Canadastaninianite

Posts: 5,945
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
st0x, hi, dis is seo.expert.4.u . Plz, wat is Google bowling and how can it be used to help SEO? Let's discuss pro and con.
ADAM Web Design is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ADAM Web Design's homepage!
 
Old 08-23-2007, 02:23 AM Re: Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
vangogh's Avatar
Post Impressionist

Posts: 8,935
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
SEO Blackhat is one of my favorite reads. Quadzilla usually has something interesting to say and is also great a linkbaiting. There's a lot to learn from the site even if you don't consider yourself black hat at all. Quadzilla is also a great writer and so the posts are generally entertaining as well.
__________________
l Search Engine Friendly Web Design | Van SEO Design
l Tips On Marketing, SEO, Design, and Development | TheVanBlog
l Custom WordPress Themes
| Small Business Forum
vangogh is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit vangogh's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Webmaster Resources Marketplace:
Software Development Company | Webhosting.UK.com | Text Link Brokers 


   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML

 


Page generated in 0.14284 seconds with 12 queries