SEO job scam, not sure where to post
02-18-2009, 06:01 PM
|
SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 3
|
Hi all. I don't know if this is the right place to post this, but it needs to be seen IMHO. I recently applied for an SEO job and got what I believe to be a major "scam" reply.
This was the job ad: http://losangeles.craigslist.org/wst...013105224.html
I emailed, and got this response (screenshot to an image file): http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/5116/optawisewc9.png
Sorry again if this is the wrong place, but I figured the SEO experts here would know if this is a legitimate thing someone looking for a job should expect.
thx in advance
|
|
|
|
02-18-2009, 07:21 PM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 518
Name: Steve
|
Seems like a lot of free work for a job interview..
|
|
|
|
02-18-2009, 07:32 PM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 10,130
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
|
Agreed. There better be a really good job waiting to go through all that for an interview. Given the ad came from Craig's List I doubt it's worth going through all the hoops. I've seen people on Craig's List asking for the equivalent of 30 years experience in skills and then offering the wonderful salary of $10/hr.
It doesn't look like a scam, but rather a very unrealistic employer. It could also be given the economy they're getting so many resumes they're looking to find the cream of the crop. At the moment it's a seller's market when it comes to jobs and they can be demanding since a few people will likely do everything they request for an interview
|
|
|
|
02-18-2009, 08:00 PM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 31
Name: David Harry
|
Well I dunno Steve, sure looks like a way to get some links... if it was really for a job interview... would the right answer be "go screw yerself"?
I was looking at his link profile and it's full of some crappy attempts at 3/4 way linking, of the most obvious kind....
A legitimate situation would be more of WHAT types of links would U build to our site and WHY - by asking them to actually CREATE links, well, seems nothing more than a cheap way to generate some links ....
|
|
|
|
02-18-2009, 08:13 PM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 680
|
you need to be wary of those kinds of ads... lots of scam coming.
|
|
|
|
02-18-2009, 08:16 PM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 10,130
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
|
My bad Dave. I hadn't noticed them asking for links back to their site. I thought they were trying to see if you could rank the site you created. That's what I get for scanning instead of reading.
In that case then yeah it's spam.
|
|
|
|
02-18-2009, 08:36 PM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 10,130
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
|
That's really sad. It's another company giving us all a bad name.
|
|
|
|
02-18-2009, 09:45 PM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 516
Location: SouthEast
|
Wow! That was freakin' pathetic for that company!!! What a loser! lol
Can't they do it for themselves?
|
|
|
|
02-18-2009, 11:08 PM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 3
|
Thank you all for replying. At first I thought they were just wanting me to jump through hoops, but then I realized they want free backlinks to their own site. It was a red flag and I'm glad I came here and verified. What a bunch of scumbags. I'm sorry that there's probably people who do this for them in the hopes of getting hired. If my name/info hadn't been on my resume, I'd give them a piece of my mind 
|
|
|
|
02-19-2009, 12:05 AM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 10,130
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
|
Maybe we should all follow their instructions, but link to them with the anchor text "pathetic losers"
Why don't you reply and ask them if it's ok to ad rel="nofollow" to all the links.
|
|
|
|
02-19-2009, 10:38 AM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 3
|
I was actually strongly considering following their steps with "seo scam" as the keywords. But like I said, they have my name, address, phone number, job history, etc.. and seeing how shady they are makes me think I better leave well enough alone. They suck. 
I wish there was a way to report them to Google and get their site banned.
|
|
|
|
02-19-2009, 08:31 PM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 518
Name: Steve
|
There is.. And it might have been already..
I'm just sayin' 
|
|
|
|
02-20-2009, 12:39 AM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 51
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feydakin
There is.. And it might have been already..
I'm just sayin' 
|
Somehow it would not surprise me in the least if someone had already done it
Love the bad-seo post guys 
|
|
|
|
02-27-2009, 05:02 PM
|
Re: SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
Posts: 1
|
Thanks for this guys, I just set up an interview with this company and thought something seemed fishy about them; 35k a yr plus for an intern just seemed too good to be true. The job search continues it seems...
|
|
|
|
|
« Reply to SEO job scam, not sure where to post
|
|
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|