SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
03-11-2008, 07:23 AM
|
SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 15
Name: James Keightley
|
Hi,
Has anyone heard of an SEO Company called First Found at www.firstfound.co.uk (or www.firstfound.co.uk/new which is being launched soon)?
Has anyone had any dealing with them or experience of their their services?
Has anyone heard of any reports (good or bad) about them as a company or of their services?
As a potential buyer of their services what pertinent questions did I ought to be asking them before I make a decision (I already have some of my own)?
Regards
Jimbob
|
|
|
|
03-11-2008, 07:34 PM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 656
|
I like this question on their "Search Engine Facts" page: "Do businesses really make money from their web sites?"
|
|
|
|
03-12-2008, 01:22 AM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 5,945
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
|
Okay...for a change, I'm confused.
On the one hand, you're cross-posting this on DP, which is normally the first sign of spam. Even some DPers are calling it spam, which, given their incredible levels of expertise in the industry of unnecessarily annoying people and lying to them, is amazing.
But yet...you actually say something bad about them on the DP thread:
Quote:
They claim they allocate a dedicated SEO technician who manages a portfolio of clients (me being one of them) who reviews my website and its SEO performance 365 days a year and makes the necessary adjustments to keep them on page one of google.com organically.
They claim their objective is client retention and thus the reason why it is important to keep us on page one.
They say that there are no guarantees, however, they report a good success rate and have clients we can speak to and aim to get us on page one for generic keywords within 10 weeks and then page one for almost all of our keywords within 4 to 6 months.
This sounds too good to be true.
Jimbob
|
And you provided a link to an under construction site, something not even the dumbest SEO would suggest. And you've actually posted non-spam in other threads. So on the one hand, you adopted a typical spammer's tactic, but on the other hand you actually appear to be doing it for legitimate reasons.
I guess my question is...could you provide more information (ideally, more than what's on the DP thread?)
|
|
|
|
03-12-2008, 12:18 PM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 547
Name: Darren
Location: England
|
We used them back in the day....
Absolutley a waste of time (in our situation anyway...)
Unless you want to rank well for "where can i buy *specific item* in *specific town* in *specific county* that has this exact postcode *insertpostcode* "

__________________
"I always wanted the adoration of John Lennon - With The Anonimity of Ringo Starr..."
QuizBay Help with the testing of this Beta site!
Last edited by rolda hayes : 03-12-2008 at 12:27 PM.
|
|
|
|
03-12-2008, 12:22 PM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 501
|
Hi guys
Theres no prices on their pages and looks like they put a link to their homepage on all their customers websites, which is a bit naughty lol !
Woc
|
|
|
|
03-12-2008, 05:10 PM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 547
Name: Darren
Location: England
|
is there any truth in this? I've never heard it before....
taken from their services page
Quote:
|
The speed of your connection may have a negative effect on some search engines. Each domain name translates to a numerical address which is the address of the computer on which your web site is hosted. Your host may have numerous web sites on the same computer. If one of the other web sites has been blacklisted by search engines that blacklisting might extend to your site because they reside on the same computer and therefore share the same numerical address as your site.
|
__________________
"I always wanted the adoration of John Lennon - With The Anonimity of Ringo Starr..."
QuizBay Help with the testing of this Beta site!
|
|
|
|
03-12-2008, 05:26 PM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 8,592
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
|
Darren you shouldn't have to worry about other sites getting blacklisted that share your IP unless your site is somehow networked with that other site.
If a site gets blacklisted and it's linking back and forth with other sites on the same IP it's pretty easy for a search engine to know and come to the conclusion the other sites should probably be looked at. But if the blacklisted site just happens to be sharing the same IP you shouldn't worry. Most sites use shared hosting and search engines are smart enough to know that sites on the same IP often have different owners.
|
|
|
|
03-13-2008, 01:29 AM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 3,025
Name: Forrest Croce
Location: Seattle, WA
|
Ditto what Steve said ... but what does that have to do with "The speed of your connection may have a negative effect on some search engines?"
|
|
|
|
03-13-2008, 10:01 AM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 12,442
Location: Blackpool. UK
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolda hayes
is there any truth in this? I've never heard it before....
taken from their services page
|
the only bit in there that is factual is:-
Quote:
|
Each domain name translates to a numerical address which is the address of the computer on which your web site is hosted.
|
__________________
Chris. ->> Links are advertising NOT optimising!! <<-
Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?
Code Samples | People Counting System
|
|
|
|
03-13-2008, 05:51 PM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 8,592
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
|
I suppose if your hosting is so slow that a search spider can't access your page time and time again then the search engine might conclude your site is no more.
Of course if it's that bad you probably have more to worry about than search engines.
|
|
|
|
03-13-2008, 08:19 PM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 15
Name: James Keightley
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADAM Web Design
Okay...for a change, I'm confused.
On the one hand, you're cross-posting this on DP, which is normally the first sign of spam. Even some DPers are calling it spam, which, given their incredible levels of expertise in the industry of unnecessarily annoying people and lying to them, is amazing.
But yet...you actually say something bad about them on the DP thread:
And you provided a link to an under construction site, something not even the dumbest SEO would suggest. And you've actually posted non-spam in other threads. So on the one hand, you adopted a typical spammer's tactic, but on the other hand you actually appear to be doing it for legitimate reasons.
I guess my question is...could you provide more information (ideally, more than what's on the DP thread?)
|
What?????
|
|
|
|
03-13-2008, 09:05 PM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 3,025
Name: Forrest Croce
Location: Seattle, WA
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by vangogh
I suppose if your hosting is so slow that a search spider can't access your page time and time again then the search engine might conclude your site is no more.
|
That's probably true, although it's probably rare enough not to be worth talking about. And a slow web server is going to be most apparent trying to download media on the page, not the html itself ... Googlebot should be fine. We don't know what timeout value they use, so there's no firm answer.
But my question is how the speed of a web server relates to anything else they're talking about?
Quote:
|
The speed of your connection may have a negative effect on some search engines. Each domain name translates to a numerical address which is the address of the computer on which your web site is hosted. Your host may have numerous web sites on the same computer. If one of the other web sites has been blacklisted by search engines that blacklisting might extend to your site because they reside on the same computer and therefore share the same numerical address as your site.
|
They're alluding to being punished by search engines for having a slow server, and then segue into how IP addresses and shared hosting work. There's no connection, and it's liable to confuse readers ... I think that's the point, why it's there.
|
|
|
|
03-13-2008, 09:16 PM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 5,945
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
|
James...what I mean is, why are you asking this question? How did they contact you? Did you contact them? Are you a thinly veiled forum spammer (which I doubt, but anything's possible)?
In other words, more back story, s'il-vous plait.
|
|
|
|
03-14-2008, 04:40 AM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 547
Name: Darren
Location: England
|
First found ring our office at least once a month trying to get us to sign up for different sites we run.
They probably just cold called him.
Quote:
|
There's no connection, and it's liable to confuse readers ... I think that's the point, why it's there.
|
and to get you to sign up with their hosting packages....
__________________
"I always wanted the adoration of John Lennon - With The Anonimity of Ringo Starr..."
QuizBay Help with the testing of this Beta site!
|
|
|
|
03-14-2008, 10:41 AM
|
Re: SEO Company FirstFound.co.uk
|
Posts: 5,945
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
| |