Reply
Pirated Software
Old 07-15-2006, 02:31 AM Angry Pirated Software
RyanAmos

Posts: n/a
No, this is not about the legality of pirated software but I need some help rather about what to go about.

It recently came to my attention that software that I wrote and own exclusive rights to has been pirated and is being freely able to be downloaded. I want to know the proper steps to go about doing this. If I contact the user from their site they will automatically ban my IP. I've yet to take any action but contacting the owner of the download site in order to have them remove my file.

So, now that you know the background... Here's what I have figured out. The domain's address is in Houston, Texas. I'm assuming the download came from someone who owns a legal license. (No, I cannot tell which.) I have called the number in the whois multiple times only recieving an answering machine.

I want to make sure that this guy's site is taken down and take it to the furthest extreme I can possibly do.

If you can't tell, I'm pretty pissed off right now about the situation and before I act upon it I want to get some advice. What's my next step?
Reply With Quote
 
When You Register, These Ads Go Away!
     
Old 07-15-2006, 02:34 AM
Junior Talker

Posts: 138
Trace it to a datacenter and send in a C&D to the datacenter and the host. It's most probably ThePlanet, I believe they're located in Houston, Texas.
imported_Max is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-15-2006, 02:36 AM
RyanAmos

Posts: n/a
The domain owner lives in texas, not the datacenter.

I want to take instant action on this. I'm not sure which route to go though.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-15-2006, 02:39 AM
RyanAmos

Posts: n/a
The server is at liquidweb.com.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-15-2006, 02:40 AM
Junior Talker

Posts: 138
It's likely that the host will act faster than the datacenter, most likely because of fear of further auctions. The datacenter is going to have to go through technicalities. Assuming the person doesn't run their own server, trace it to the host.

I would contact them as soon as possible.

http://www.liquidweb.com/contact/index.htm
imported_Max is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-15-2006, 02:41 AM
RyanAmos

Posts: n/a
After thinking about this... LiquidWeb isn't going to do anything. The site isn't hosting the files only linking to them. I'm giving them a call anyways though.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-15-2006, 02:42 AM
Junior Talker

Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanAmos View Post
After thinking about this... LiquidWeb isn't going to do anything. The site isn't hosting the files only linking to them. I'm giving them a call anyways though.
Who is hosting the files?
imported_Max is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-15-2006, 02:46 AM
RyanAmos

Posts: n/a
RapidShare.

I've already sent them an email requesting it being removed. I contacted liquid web and they are looking into this. If I don't hear anything back from them then I will call them back in an hour.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-15-2006, 02:59 AM
RyanAmos

Posts: n/a
Good news, liquidweb suspended the account. I'm assuming they are only looking into this issue now but they are taking instant action.

I'm about to switch my server over to liquidweb just for doing such quick action.:-D
Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-15-2006, 03:21 AM
Tran's Avatar
Junior Talker

Posts: 1,223
Lol What site was it btw?
__________________
LinkBucket
Tran is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-15-2006, 03:22 AM
RyanAmos

Posts: n/a
I personally don't think that should be mentioned. If the site comes back up I'll be going through each page on the site and sending out emails to the software owners. This guy won't last!
Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-15-2006, 03:24 AM
Tran's Avatar
Junior Talker

Posts: 1,223
What software was it ?
__________________
LinkBucket
Tran is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-15-2006, 03:29 AM
RyanAmos

Posts: n/a
The one in my signature.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-15-2006, 04:24 AM
imported_mill's Avatar
$1,000 - $4,999 Monthly

Posts: 387
I tell you what Ryan, your handling this like a champ. I would be so pissed and fuming that I couldnt contain myself. As long as you have proof of the rights to it, then your golden, I read an article somewhere where a couple of people in NY just got 40 yrs without the possibility of early release due to the fact they stole someones software and sold it. They got charged with Interstate Pirating or something. The funny thing was that most of their customers were on the west coast so the Feds counted every state in between ca and ny... OUCH.

Serves the fukrs right,, go track em down and find out how many sites or copies they sold and tell them you want full payment for each copy they distributed without permission. I am sure since you wrote the software you know the footprints , just search and seek and destroy.
__________________
Earn More with MILLNIC Media!
imported_mill is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-15-2006, 02:08 PM
RyanAmos

Posts: n/a
They aren't actually selling it but only taking donations for offering it for free download. I wake up today and the site is back up. Now it's time to get dirty.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-15-2006, 02:37 PM
rex_b's Avatar
Junior Talker

Posts: 2
Heh, tell us the site. I'm sure we could send some harm their way.. MUAHAHA
rex_b is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-15-2006, 05:24 PM
Tran's Avatar
Junior Talker

Posts: 1,223
I just want to know the website..
__________________
LinkBucket
Tran is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-15-2006, 05:46 PM
$100 - $999 Monthly

Posts: 12
I hate to be the one to say this. But I'm sure your software is being distributed through the web right now. It's probably all over warez boards now....
__________________
XiHost.Net - Cheap, reliable, fast web hosting!
Jarrid is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-15-2006, 06:09 PM
RyanAmos

Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrid View Post
I hate to be the one to say this. But I'm sure your software is being distributed through the web right now. It's probably all over warez boards now....
Why do you assume my software is being distributed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave View Post
I just want to know the website..
I'm not going to support warez or pirated software, so I will not support this website nor will I give out the site.

If you are a creator of software feel free to PM me and I may be able to share with you the site and if your software is being pirated as well.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-16-2006, 12:21 AM
RyanAmos

Posts: n/a
Just got an email from another customer about another site.

This has pushed me over the edge and now I've decided to go with encoding my software.
Reply With Quote
 
Reply     « Reply to Pirated Software

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML

 


Page generated in 0.19587 seconds with 13 queries