Reply
AdSense Scam?
Old 08-14-2007, 03:26 AM AdSense Scam?
Extreme Talker

Posts: 226
Location: South Korea
I got this e-mail today. I think it is a scam because I already have my payments going to ETF!

Quote:
Hi,

You're about to receive an AdSense payment and we'd like to invite you to
receive it directly to your bank account via Electronic Funds Transfer
(EFT).

With EFT, there's no need to wait for your check in the mail or for
it to clear with your bank; your funds will appear in your bank account just a
few days after a payment is posted online in your AdSense account.

Also, EFT is good for the environment, as it helps save paper
needed to issue your check.

To get started with EFT, log into your AdSense account, click the
'My Account tab' and 'Edit' your payment details. Complete
instructions can also be found here:
https://www.google.com/adsense/suppo...y?answer=15920 .

We hope you give it a try!

Sincerely,

The Google AdSense Team

Google Inc.
1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
Mountain View, CA 94043
__________________
Classifieds for those living in Korea
Forums for those living in Korea
Sports Trader Central, Buy, sell or trade sport cards
mikesilvia is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit mikesilvia's homepage!
 
When You Register, These Ads Go Away!
     
Old 08-15-2007, 01:05 AM Re: AdSense Scam?
Swinger's Avatar
Extreme Talker

Posts: 193
Name: Poshswinger
Location: Hong Kong
Interesting.
What's the email address by the way?
Swinger is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Swinger's homepage!
 
Old 08-15-2007, 01:46 AM Re: AdSense Scam?
vangogh's Avatar
Post Impressionist

Posts: 8,652
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Did the link match the text of the link or was it sending you to a different page?

You could always just log into your AdSense account and check too. As long as you don't follow a link to log in you're fine.

It does look like a legitimate email, but it's always good to be cautious.
__________________
l Search Engine Friendly Web Design | Van SEO Design
l Tips On Marketing, SEO, Design, and Development | TheVanBlog
l Custom WordPress Themes
| Small Business Forum
vangogh is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit vangogh's homepage!
 
Old 08-15-2007, 01:33 PM Re: AdSense Scam?
Novice Talker

Posts: 12
I don't really see how this is a scan unless you have stripped the URL from the email. Either way you are better safe than sorry.
madk is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 08-15-2007, 10:36 PM Re: AdSense Scam?
Novice Talker

Posts: 5
Name: Jackson
Hi Mike,

That mail smells scam to me. I have had and still regularly correspond with with The Google Team and I have never seen them close any mail as officially as yours was closed. It think that it is an attempt at fales legitmacy.

Below find a few of the informal mail closes as used by The Google Team in their mails to me:

"Sean
The Google AdSense Team
----------------
To access the Google AdSense home page or to log in to your account,
please visit: https://www.google.com/adsense

Sincerely,
The Google AdSense Team


Sincerely,
The Google AdSense Team"

Take care.

----------------------
__________________
Website Content Riches
Get authentic
Ultimate Wealth Package

Last edited by odidis : 08-15-2007 at 10:41 PM.
odidis is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 08-15-2007, 10:40 PM Re: AdSense Scam?
vangogh's Avatar
Post Impressionist

Posts: 8,652
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
I think Jackson may be right. It's been a few months since my last email from AdSense, but none of the one's I've ever received had an address at the end.

Regardless caution is best. And it's easy enough to log into AdSense without going through the email to check your account.
__________________
l Search Engine Friendly Web Design | Van SEO Design
l Tips On Marketing, SEO, Design, and Development | TheVanBlog
l Custom WordPress Themes
| Small Business Forum
vangogh is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit vangogh's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to AdSense Scam?
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML

 


Page generated in 0.13684 seconds with 13 queries