Reply
Somebody is misusing my sites name, what should i do?
Old 01-11-2009, 05:33 PM Somebody is misusing my sites name, what should i do?
Skilled Talker

Posts: 84
Name: shubi
Trades: 0
Hi
I don't know if this is the right place but i think so.

I recently got a mail from person that was complaining about some site named wanglebih(http://wanglebih.com/), was using my site name zhift(http://zhift.com/), but when i go to the site it is not open and can't find any contact info, therfor i used whois, and sended a mail, but the mail i sended failed because it doesn't exist.

What should i do?

Doesn't want my search engine destoyed because of a spammer.
searchia is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
 
When You Register, These Ads Go Away!
Old 01-11-2009, 06:06 PM Re: Somebody is misusing my sites name, what should i do?
AD7863's Avatar
15 Year Old Tech Blogger

Posts: 427
Name: Artful Dodger
Location: England, UK
Trades: 0
Ermm... Not sure about this one but maybe you should contact their domain registrar? Not entirely sure if it will work though.
AD7863 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit AD7863's homepage!
 
Old 01-12-2009, 10:41 AM Re: Somebody is misusing my sites name, what should i do?
Skilled Talker

Posts: 84
Name: shubi
Trades: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AD7863 View Post
Ermm... Not sure about this one but maybe you should contact their domain registrar? Not entirely sure if it will work though.
the problem is that they have their own registar
searchia is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 01-12-2009, 01:10 PM Re: Somebody is misusing my sites name, what should i do?
Banned

Posts: 922
Name: Geoff Vader
Location: In my dreams
Trades: 0
Whatever you may say, wanglebih is a good name.
witnesstheday is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 01-12-2009, 01:13 PM Re: Somebody is misusing my sites name, what should i do?
AD7863's Avatar
15 Year Old Tech Blogger

Posts: 427
Name: Artful Dodger
Location: England, UK
Trades: 0
Don't know then.
AD7863 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit AD7863's homepage!
 
Old 01-12-2009, 06:34 PM Re: Somebody is misusing my sites name, what should i do?
vangogh's Avatar
Post Impressionist

Posts: 9,669
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Trades: 0
How are they using your site name?
__________________
l Search Engine Friendly Web Design | Van SEO Design
l Tips On Marketing, SEO, Design, and Development | TheVanBlog
l Custom WordPress Themes
| Small Business Forum
vangogh is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit vangogh's homepage!
 
Old 01-12-2009, 07:12 PM Re: Somebody is misusing my sites name, what should i do?
Decaf's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 490
Name: Adam
Trades: 0
Well, considering that there site is classified as spam. They have made a living in using other people sites.

Put a note on your home/highly trafficted site stating that you have seen {sitename} (NOT DIRECT URL!!) mirroring your web service, and that you are NOT affiliated with them.

Be only as direct as you need to be, no need in getting extra-hyped (lose visits) or under-hyped and getting a bad rep. (Cause your site is cool )
__________________
Decaf is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Decaf's homepage!
 
Old 01-13-2009, 04:45 PM Re: Somebody is misusing my sites name, what should i do?
Skilled Talker

Posts: 84
Name: shubi
Trades: 0
thanks will do that
searchia is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 01-26-2009, 10:04 AM Re: Somebody is misusing my sites name, what should i do?
web hosting's Avatar
Skilled Talker

Posts: 66
Name: steve austin
Trades: 0
Well, You should share how they are misusing your site's name. Are they sending spam emails to people and telling them that email is from you site, or Are they telling people they are affiliated with you and are spamming or scamming them? What kind of misuse is that?

Or is it just to advertise your search engine here?
web hosting is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit web hosting's homepage!
 
Old 01-27-2009, 11:07 PM Re: Somebody is misusing my sites name, what should i do?
Experienced Talker

Posts: 35
Name: Designbuyers
Trades: 0
Contact the web hosting company used by the site and inform them of their customer's abuse. This information is also available through a Whois search.
designbuyers is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit designbuyers's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to Somebody is misusing my sites name, what should i do?
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML

 



Page generated in 0.14590 seconds with 13 queries